Eventim UK - Ad

Wednesday, 4 June 2014

Preview: Gruffalo at The Theatre Royal



The Gruffalo Returns to the North East
 
Tom Crook as The Gruffalo with  Susanna Jennings as the Mouse
 The acclaimed musical stage adaptation of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s award winning picture book The Gruffalo is coming back to the Theatre Royal in June direct from a smash-hit West End season – are you ready to return to the woods? (Tues 24 – Sat 28 June 2014)

This is an opportunity to join Mouse on a daring adventure through the deep dark wood - in the search for hazelnuts - as she meets  the cunning Fox, the eccentric old Owl and the party mad Snake, and outwits them all with the story of the fabled Gruffalo. Armed with only a nut map and a little courage Mouse must make sure she doesn’t end up as dinner for these wily woodland creatures! The perfect combination of music, laughter, physical theatre and just the right touch of scary fun, The Gruffalo is the must see family show for lovers of the timeless story.


Tall Stories’ hit musical adaptation of the award winning picture book The Gruffalo, the modern classic, by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler is set to a wonderfully catchy musical score with original songs. This enchanting production continues to entertain audiences worldwide, bringing everyone’s favourite furry monster to life, live on stage. 

The Gruffalo is produced by KW & NB Ltd and created by the critically acclaimed theatre company Tall Stories - a creative force whose credits include Room on the Broom, The Gruffalo’s Child, The Snail and The Whale, Snow Dragon and My Brother The Robot. The team includes director Olivia Jacobs, creative producer Toby Mitchell, designer Isla Shaw, composers Jon Fiber & Andy Shaw and lighting designer James Whiteside. The delightful cast are: Tom Crook – at 6’5” Tom is the tallest actor to play The Gruffalo; Ellie Bell as the Mouse and Will Towler as the Predators.

Since its 2001 premiere, Tall Stories’ stage adaptation The Gruffalo has been performed across the globe in countries including Poland, Germany, Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore, Dubai and Chile as well as in North America from Broadway to Alaska and Canada. In the UK The Gruffalo has even been spied on the summer Festival circuit playing at the British Summertime Festival Hyde Park and Camp Bestival.


The Gruffalo appears at Newcastle Theatre Royal 24 - 28 June 2014 (Wed - Sat 10.30am, Tue – Fri 1.30pm). Tickets are £12.00 (a booking fee of 95p will apply to most tickets) and can be purchased from the Theatre Royal Box Office on 08448 11 21 21 or online at www.theatreroyal.co.uk



Tour:
Doncaster, Cast Tue 3 - Wed 4 Jun 01302 303 959
Buxton Opera House Fri 6 - Sun 8 Jun 0845 1272190
North Finchley, artsdepot Fri 20 - Sun 22 Jun 020 8369 5454
Newcastle, Theatre Royal Tue 24 - Sat 28 Jun 08448 11 21 21
Woking, New Victoria Theatre Tue 1 - Thu 3 Jul 0844 871 7645
Hull, New Theatre Fri 4 - Sun 6 Jul 01482 300 300
Peterborough, Key Theatre Tue 8 - Wed 9 Jul 01733 207239
Cardiff, New Theatre Thu 10 - Sun 13 Jul 02920878889
Blackpool, The Grand Theatre Tue 15 - Wed 16 Jul 01253 290 190
Inverness, Eden CourtFri 18 - Sun 20 Jul 01463 234 234
Stafford, Gatehouse Theatre Tue 22 - Wed 23 Jul01785 254 653
Preston, Charter Theatre Thu 24 - Sat 26 Jul 08448447710
Truro, Hall for Cornwall Mon 28 - Wed 30 Jul 01872 262466
King's Lynn, Corn Exchange Fri 1 - Sun 3 Aug 01553 764864
Crewe, Lyceum Theatre Tue 5 - Wed 6 Aug 01270 368 242
Dorking, Dorking Halls Thu 7 - Sat 9 Aug 01306 881717
Birmingham, Town Hall Tue 12 - Sun 24 Aug 0121 345 0600
Radlett, The Radlett Centre Tue 26 - Wed 27 Aug 01923 859291
Southend, Palace Theatre Thu 28 - Sun 31 Aug 01702 351135
Northampton, Derngate Wed 10 - Thu 11 Sep 01604 624811
Stevenage, Gordon Craig Theatre Fri 12 - Sun 14 Sep 01438 363200
Cheltenham, Everyman Theatre Tue 16 - Wed 17 Sep 01242 572573
Basingstoke, The Haymarket Thu 18 - Sun 21 Sep 01256 844244
Crawley, The Hawth Theatre Tue 23 - Thu 25 Sep 01293 553636
Scunthorpe, The Baths Hall Sun 28 - Mon 29 Sep 0844 8542776
Croydon, The Ashcroft Theatre Tue 7 - Sat 18 Oct 0208 688 9291
Winchester, Theatre Royal Thu 9 - Fri 10 Oct 01962 840 440
Coventry, Warwick Arts Centre Sat 29 Nov 2014 - Sun 4 Jan 2015 024 7652 4524

No comments:

Post a Comment