Eventim UK - Ad

Wednesday, 17 April 2019

Training: The Actors' Gym at Newcastle Alphabetti Theatre


"To Lift or not to Lift"

The Actors' Gym
Newcastle Alphabetti Theatre

Going to the gym is like going to a rehearsal, we train, keep fit and achieve our goals!
But what happens when we are aren't in a rehearsal room?
The Actors' Gym is a new version of the treadmill for North East Actors who want to take risks and develop their skills in a supportive environment. It involves weekly workshops on specific plays and skills such as self-tapes, audition technique and rehearsal methods with individual and group work at the Alphabetti Theatre.

The Gym is designed to suit the needs of all disciplines and the actors' need for consistency to try new things, and improve their craft and stamina.

The only cores we are concerned with are our core values: Community, Imagination, and Courage. The Actors' Gym is open to any actor in the North East who has acting experience from a University/ Drama School/ College, or a Youth Theatre.

The Actors's Gym will be led by Jake Smith. Jake Smith trained on the National Theatre Directors’ Programme and has held positions as Resident Director at the Almeida Theatre, Trainee Director at Chichester Festival Theatre and Creative Learning Facilitator at Hull Truck Theatre. He has also been an Off West End Award for Best Director nominee.

When: Workshop 1: Wednesday 1st May, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 2: Wednesday 8th May, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 3: Wednesday 15th May, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 4: Wednesday 22nd May, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 5: Wednesday 29th May 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 6: Wednesday 5th June 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 7: Wednesday 12th June 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 8: Wednesday 19th June 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 9: Wednesday 26th June 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 10: Wednesday 3rd July 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 11: Wednesday 10th July 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Workshop 12: Wednesday 17th July 6:00pm - 7:30pm
All workshops will take place in the upstairs rehearsal room (unfortunately not wheelchair accessible, huge apologies!)

Tickets: £35 for all 12 sessions / £5 per session drop-in*
*Please note £5 individual workshop tickets can only be purchased on the day at the Box Office, and full series tickets can only be purchased online before Wednesday 1st May.
Age Recommendation: 18+

No comments:

Post a Comment