Eventim UK - Ad

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Preview: Fish Eye at On Tour Across The North East




Theatre Alibi presents Fish Eye
On Tour Across The North East

Tue 15 & Wed 16 November 2016 - ARC Stockton Arts Centre
Thu 17 November 2016Arts Centre Washington
Sat 19 November 2016Seaton Delaval Arts Centre
Tue 22 November 2016 - The Customs House, South Shields
Wed 23 November 2016 – Queen’s Hall Arts Centre, Hexham
Thu 24 November 2016 - Alnwick Playhouse
Fri 25 November 2016 - Bishop Auckland Town Hall
Sat 26 November 2016 - Saltburn Community Theatre
Sun 27 November 2016 - Hartlepool Town Hall Theatre

Theatre Alibi has an excellent reputation for creating imaginative and enjoyable productions. Their latest show, Fish Eye, is a dark comedy about nosiness gone wild.

When someone steals Pam’s Elizabethan sideboard she’s convinced that one of her neighbours is the culprit. Turning the idea of Neighbourhood Watch completely on its head, she decides to watch her neighbours instead. With the help of her nephew who works in security, Pam graduates from curtain twitching to spy cameras hidden in hand-knitted novelties. What Pam uncovers is what she’s always suspected, that her neighbours are all on the verge of terrible crimes.

Fish Eye is a very funny sideways take on how the hacking of every inch of our lives has run completely out of control – Britain has more CCTV cameras in place than anywhere else in the world and the Sunday Times recently estimated that the average person is recorded between 70 and 100 times a day. The so-called “Snoopers Charter”, The Investigatory Powers Bill is currently going through Parliament, which will force telecoms companies and internet service providers to store every person’s communications data, including records of calls, texts, emails and their entire internet browsing history for a year.

Fish Eye is written by award-winning playwright Daniel Jamieson, whose play The Lovers of Vitebsk was performed this summer at London’s Globe Theatre. It is directed by Theatre Alibi’s Artistic Director Nikki Sved. Pam tells her own deeply dodgy story accompanied by live music and her very own spy camera footage.

Fish Eye is commissioned by REACH, a project bringing new theatre to the North East managed by ARC Stockton and Dep Arts Ltd and funded by Arts Council England.

On The Web:

theatrealibi.co.uk
@TheatreAlibi

Running Time 1 hour (approx)
Suitable for ages 14+

North East Tour Dates:

Tue 15 & Wed 16 Nov, 7pm - ARC Stockton Arts Centre
01642 525199 / www.arconline.co.uk

Thu 17 Nov, 7.30pmArts Centre Washington

Sat 19 Nov, 7.30pmSeaton Delaval Arts Centre

Tue 22 Nov, 8pm - The Customs House, South Shields
0191 454 1234 / www.customshouse.co.uk

Wed 23 Nov, 7.30pmQueen’s Hall Arts Centre, Hexham
01434 652477 / www.queenshall.co.uk

Thu 24 Nov, 7.30pm - Alnwick Playhouse

Fri 25 Nov, 7.30pm - Bishop Auckland Town Hall

Sat 26 Nov, 7.30pm - Saltburn Community Theatre
01287 624997 / www.saltburnarts.co.uk

Sun 27 Nov, 6pm - Hartlepool Town Hall Theatre
01429 890000 / www.hartlepooltownhalltheatre.co.uk




No comments:

Post a Comment